Can You #KeepTheSecrets?⚡️🤐

My fiancé and I went on a short 3 day break to London for our anniversary to watch ‘Harry Potter and the Cursed Child’. I had bought the tickets back in October 2015 so I had to wait a year and half before seeing this. 

I had purchased the book on release day, July 31st 2016 and read it within 3 hours. I was already obsessed!

For anybody that doesn’t know, ‘The Cursed Child’ takes place 19 years after the Battle of Hogwarts and mainly focuses on Harry Potter’s son, Albus Potter and Draco Malfoy’s son Scorpius Malfoy. This review will have no spoilers as I promised to #keepthesecrets.

Jack Thorne’s play, based on a script written by himself, J. K. Rowling and John Tiffany is the perfect balance between the story we all know and love and the new and exciting chapters ahead. Jamie Parker, Paul Thornley and Noma Dumezweni were cast as Harry Potter, Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger, the characters everybody is familiar with. I was so skeptical about whether I would enjoy this next chapter because of the casting mostly, but they all delivered their performances with such passion and they stayed so true to the characters I grew up with, I loved every second.

Sam Clemment played the part of Albus Potter, Harry Potter’s second son. A young boy who feels like he cannot compete with his father and the mark he has left on the world. He grows up forever living in his shadow. The on stage father and son chemistry between Sam and Jamie was incredible to watch. 

Anthony Boyle played the part of Scorpius Malfoy and he was by far my favourite character in the entire production. Anthony Boyle’s portrayal of Scorpius was phenomenal in every way. His mannerisms portrayed his personality perfectly and the enthusiasm is which every line was delivered was outstanding. He is a superb actor and I recently found out he has been nominated for ‘Best Actor in a Supporting Role’ in this years Olivier Awards, which he 110% deserves. 

Christine Jones designed the set and I cannot find a single fault within it. The transistions between scenes were so quick and effortless. Katrina Lindsay designed the costumes and again these were all superb and Neil Austin created stunning effects with his lighting work throughout the production. 

The magical element to the play was something I was so curious about. I had no idea how they would portray a magical world on stage as they cannot rely on special effects like the on screen films. However, Jamie Harrison, the man behind all the Illusions and Magic, made this side of the performance fun and exciting. From the floo powder, the polyjuice potion transformations and the duels between characters, every element was truly believable and indeed, magical. 

Part One and Part Two total a running time of 5 hours. I was so engulfed in this story that it barely felt that long. I easily could of sat for another 5 hours watching this story play out in front of my eyes. I laughed, I cried, I was scared, I was happy, I experienced almost every emotion I have throughout and it was the best theatre performance I have ever watched. 

Tickets for May 2018 onwards go on sale next month and I urge you to get some for yourself. Even if you have to wait a year before you go and even if you have never read/watched the previous 8 stories, this performance is worth every second. 

Have you seen ‘The Cursed Child’? What did you think?

#KeepTheSecrets

L xx

4 thoughts on “Can You #KeepTheSecrets?⚡️🤐

      1. I was really craving a burger so we went to Stax Diner by Carnaby Street. They served our food to the wrong table. Then we went to Whyte and Brown next door and we had to wait half an hour for service and then they’d ran out of burgers. We ended up rushing down burgers at Byron in the end. Wish it was easier and cheaper to get tickets though – I’d love to go again.

        I’d recommend Book of Mormon if you’re not easily offended and fancy a laugh!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

