Lifestyle | Bedtime Routines🛌

Happy Friday everyone!

 

In case you were not aware, it’s National Bed Month this March. I wanted to use this as an opportunity to discuss ways you can dedicate yourself to a healthier sleeping routine. According to research, it takes 21 Days to break a habit and I for one certainly need to practice what I preach in this post.

 

When I talk about a ‘healthy lifestyle’ what immediately pops into your head? Exercise? Gym memberships? Making sure you post that picture of your poached eggs and avocado on toast for Instagram, at least once a day, so it looks like you can keep up a diet? I would be sitting at home stuffing my face with chocolate, telling myself over and over again that I need to sort my lifestyle out. I then start scrolling through Instagram at all these perfectly toned fitness models, start crying to myself and then eat more chocolate. It is a vicious circle that never seems to end.

 

It’s not that I have never wanted to lead a healthy lifestyle, I just don’t have the will power to stick to it. However, after I did some research I found a way I can start my journey to a healthier lifestyle and I want to share that with you!

 

It can actually begin in the bedroom (and no, not in the way that you are currently thinking!) Sleep is one of the key parts of a healthy lifestyle. Now, if you are anything like me, your sleep pattern will be awful. I stay up late watching TV Shows, I nap in the day with my little boy, I wake up stupidly early for work and I have no regular sleeping pattern whatsoever. This quite often leaves me feeling sluggish and exhausted and in the long run can start to have serious effects on my physical and mental health. So what can I do to change this?

 

Set a bedtime

This is a key factor for a routine. If you have an iPhone they have a ‘Bedtime’ option on the alarm settings. You can tell the phone what time you need to be awake for every morning and how many hours sleep you wish to get each night. The phone then sets itself a reminder to tell you to go to bed half hour before you should in order to get the desired amount of sleep. This is a life saver for me and I use this all the time.

 

Have a technology free hour

Take the time to wind down and give your brain the chance to relax before you go to sleep. Do anything else away from technology. Read a book, listen to some music, do some Yoga or meditation. Your brain will completely relax and you will find it much easier to fall asleep. This is one that I definitely need to work on.

 

Keep your phone away from your bedside

This follows on from the above point, if you keep your phone away from you then there will be no temptation to check your notifications should you happen to wake up in the middle of the night. This is something that I struggle with, I find myself ‘just checking Twitter’ at 3am and before I know it I am so deep into YouTube videos that I’m watching theories about why Pluto isn’t a planet anymore. Definitely a habit I need to break.

 

Have a bath

I find nothing is better than a bath when you want to relax. A bath bomb, some bubbles, a face mask and a half hour soak can cure any bad day, I’m sure of it! Also, is there any better feeling than getting out of the bath, into clean pyjama’s and clean bedsheets? The answer is no. Seriously, try it.

 

Have a hot drink

Stay away from tea and coffee as these contain caffeine and that would defeat the purpose. However, a hot chocolate, hot milk or my personal favourite Horlicks is the perfect drink before bedtime.

 

Avoid naps

This one is obvious, however we all fall victim to a cheeky power nap to boost your energy levels. As soon as you have napped during the day, you body clock will be completely out of alignment and you will struggle to follow your bedtime routine. Naps are a no go area!

 

Invest in a good mattress

This is undoubtedly the most important point of all. Mattresses are such a huge part of your sleeping routine, so to invest in a good one is highly important for your health. If you have a comfortable place to sleep, you will look forward to going to bed every single night and will make sleeping a whole lot easier for you. If you would like to upgrade your current mattress, Leesa have some amazing online options! Be sure to check them out. 

 

 

I hope you have enjoyed this post and will take something away from this today. I have certainly enjoyed completing my research about this and definitely need to start practising a few of these points and getting myself on the way to becoming a healthier person.

Do you have any other tips that help towards a good nights sleep? I’d love to hear them in the comments!

L xx

4 thoughts on “Lifestyle | Bedtime Routines🛌

  1. I didn’t realise it was National Bed month! My bed is my favourite place to be! I use the feature on the iPhone and love it! It gives me the kick I need to put down my phone or start getting ready for bed!
    Sam xox
    samslifeadventures.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Helpful post, I have to admit.. having a tech free hour and putting my phone aside is quite a hard thing to overcome.. I am addicted to my phone and social media. Will have to try harder to break this habit of mine!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

