Review | A Series Of Unfortunate Events👁

If you know me well you will know that I absolutely adore Lemony Snicket’s A Series Of Unfortunate Events. I remember my Year 6 primary school teacher read us the very 1st book ‘The Bad Beginning’ and from that moment I was hooked. I believe Book 12 & 13 were still yet to be released when I first started reading them so I started my collection and waited patiently for the last 2 books. 

 

In 2004, the 1st 3 books were adapted into a film with Jim Carrey playing the notorious Villian Count Olaf. In retrospect, I did enjoy the movie however, it did not do the books justice. It felt slightly crammed and I believed that, as much as I love his films, Jim Carrey was not best suited to play the part of Count Olaf. Also there was never an inkling that they would adapt the other 10 books into films which was disappointing.

 

When I heard the news that Netflix were creating an original series based on Lemony Snickets (aka, Daniel Handler) books, I was estactic! I patiently waited for January 13th 2017 just for me to finish the whole season by the morning of January 14th. This is a TV show not to be missed. 

 

Season 1 covers the first 4 books and is split into 8 episodes, each one nearing 1 hour long.

‘The Bad Beginning’, ‘The Reptile Room’, ‘The Wide Window’ and ‘The Miserable Mill’ each with 2 hours of content for each book was exactly what I felt this story needed. No detail was left unturned and the series really did the books justice.

 

Neil Patrick Harris potrayed Count Olaf perfect to how I originally envisioned him when I read them. Just enough humor to complete the character’s personality but never once forgetting that this character is indeed a villian continously threatening 3 children. 

 

Patrick Warburton played Lemony Snicket so incredibly well and I absolutely loved that the ‘fourth wall’ was broken continously throughout to help the audience with the story. This was one of my favourite things throughout the books and I am do happy they played it out during the TV show.

 

No review I could ever write will do this show the justice that it deserves. The casting was incredible, the sets and costumes were outstanding and the storyline was told perfectly. I thoroughly enjoyed this series and if you were a fan of the books then you do not want to miss this one! I’m excited for the next 8 books in Season 2.

 

Rating: 10/10

L xx

7 thoughts on “Review | A Series Of Unfortunate Events👁

Leave a Reply

