Film Review | The Girl on the Train🚂

*There are no spoilers in this review, so don’t be afraid to read it if you haven’t read the book or seen the film yet*

The Girl on the Train was my summer read this year. I’d bought it ages ago but for some reason or another I never actually got round to reading it. So I packed it in my suitcase when I went away to Mallorca for a long weekend.

As I started reading it, I was very easily confused at the beginning with regards to the different characters POV’s being at different times of the year (if you’ve read the book, you’ll know what I mean) so it took me a while to get into this book properly, once I knew the characters and could easily jump between their POV’s it was an easy read and a very good one.

I couldn’t put this book down, it had me on the edge of my seat and there were so many twists and surprises that I never saw coming! I think I finished this book in about 3 days and instantly wanted to read it again, I thoroughly enjoyed it.

When I heard that it was being adapted into a movie, I was beyond excited to see how it would be portrayed on the big screen, so I bought my tickets and went to see it last night with a friend 

I had to get a tango ice blast, because no cinema trip is complete without one ☺️.

As the film started, it was almost perfect to how I pictured it in my head whilst I read the book and Emily Blunt was so perfect for the character of Rachel and performance was incredible throughout.
 The film made it a lot easier to follow when it switched between the characters and the different times of the year (or maybe the fact that I had read the book and knew the characters made this easier for me, I don’t know).

I loved how the film was scattered and distorted due to Rachel’s memory, it really put me on the edge of my seat as a viewer even though I knew the plot line and what the twists were going to be. This film made me feel all kinds of emotions and I even shed a tear at one point. 

I’m so impressed with how close to the book this film was (apart from the location) and how well all the characters were cast for their roles (especially Rachel). I would recommend this film to anyone who loves a crime thriller and a bit of mystery and suspense. Definitely a 10/10 from me ❤️

Until next time, bye 👋🏻👋🏻 xx

Leave a Reply

